Sad Endings

Bike final A1

As some of my older followers will know I had a tough time earlier in the year with everything around me, and I invested in a bike as, well, I suppose as a way of symbolising hope in the near future. I met these amazing people in my local bike shop as a result and I created this poster as a thanks. I was going to send them the above version, however realised it had spelling errors so I fixed it and the following version can be seen in my portfolio. However, when I printed it off and trekked over a few months later I discovered it closed and abandoned, with a note on the window explaining that due to the hard economic climate; the shop, like so many others in the high street, had to be closed. I had to peer through the windows in disbelief  just to make sure, I knew it was silly. Of course I wasn’t I going to find Andy the bike man suddenly appear and tell me they managed to find enough money to reopen. I guess, they had been there for so long and had so much life in them. It was strange to see such an empty, dark version of what was once was. I hope that Andy and all the other employees of Freewheelin’ have found better and brighter things.

7 thoughts on “Sad Endings

  1. Jennie Saia says:

    Oh, I hope the universe conspires to let them see this! It’s such a lovely gesture and it would complete the circle. 🙂

  2. artsifrtsy says:

    I love the poster! Sad that a place like that had to close.

  3. Dan says:

    What about a Freewheelin’ campaing!
    Contact me on http://www.danielbarcza.co.uk or in the studio.

  4. Lane says:

    I love it when people in a business invest to build a relationship instead treating a customer like a transaction. That’s a heartbreaking end to such a great experience.

    • I concur. It’s unfortunate that a mixture of the internet and big supermarkets often kill these businesses and the high street in general. Most can’t keep up. Whilst I think the internet is a place where great things can happen, I realise that it’s definitely a problem regarding face-to-face relationships. My friend owns a printing business/studio and has such an in-depth knowledge, unfortunately, whilst he has to charge £6 to print a A2 Colour Poster, (overheads, machine/printer care etc), he has to go up against places on the internet which will do them for £2.20. Is the quality just as good? Maybe not, but I am sure that they will not get the same customer care and knowledge that he often gives me when I pop in.

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

