We Were Bored so we Tried to change the World

SAM_1772

‘What! You want to get discount?!”

Welcome one and all to ‘We were Bored so we Tried to Change the World.’ A 1st Year exhibition which I organised; it was hosted in a previously empty and disused store at our local shopping centre. Boy, it sure was hard work. 3 cans of white paint, hours of student perseverance, and buckets of blood, sweat and tears later, we were ready and waiting with a table of cheap alcohol for our opening night.

We had two parts to our exhibition, the first was a series of work we created based on a brief Anthony Burrill had given us, which was to create our own (somewhat non-serious) protests. The second, feeling slightly constrained with the exhibition work focused solely around the project, was a pop up shop which showcased everyone’s more ‘personal’ style.  We sold t-shirts, posters and greetings cards, all of which can be brought on our Etsy Shop. (Coming Soon!)

Personal highlights include, Matt’s jazzy hawaiian shirt on opening night, meeting a handsome graphic designer who wandered in and brought my t-shirt, KJ being DJ for the night and an overwhelming vote on making our tutor, Mark Hudson Prime Minister.

And finally, I’d like to thank Richard and Julie, for letting us have the space for free, More T Vicar, for letting me print t-shirts for free, Steven for all the advice and printing (unfortunately, not for free) Matt, for being my right hand man and helping me to not lose my sanity, my fellow students who helped with painting and funding, and everyone that took the time to come see and support us.

Thank you, and goodnight.

6 thoughts on “We Were Bored so we Tried to change the World

  1. Matt’s face is amazing!! hahaha. I’m sad it came to an end so quickly, I think we all did well even with the ups and downs. The chalk board at the end was immense, I love some of the protests people wrote. x

    • I concur, thanks for sticking by it all, and thanks for doing the rota (which most people stuck to yay! ha!) Yeah, Patti’s idea was really good, came out with some great stuff. I don’t care what anyone says though, I stand by my censorship haha, kids were going to be there after us. Think of the children! x

  2. raggz2baggz says:

    Looks like your exhibition was a success! The hawaiian shirt is quaint but his expression is classic!!
    Thank you for your recent visit to my blog. Every visit is appreciated!
    Cathy the Bagg Lady

    • Haha, I think that’s the best description of it by far! I shall tell him that, and no worries unfortunately you and a lot of other bloggers I follow don’t show up on my reader, so I must remind myself to check on from time to time. 🙂

      ~DefinitelyJenny

  3. […] show you some work that I recently re-photographed (above) that eventually became the theme for the first year exhibition. It was a live project we did with Anthony Burrill in which we had to make ‘protest […]

  4. […] everyone! So, if anyone remembers, a while back I wrote about my 1st Year Exhibition, but time flies when you’re having fun and my 2nd Year Show is now done and dusted. We based […]

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

