Iron Man

iron man v6

Hello everyone! A while back, I did a one day brief which was to create a book cover for Iron Man, by Ted Hughes. It could have been typographic, illustrative, photographic or even mixed and was an enjoyable but definitely fast-paced brief. For my Iron man cover I wanted to focus on the texture to create the character and/or interest, and that’s when I went down to the letterpress and played with the letterforms. Originally I was just going to set up the letters all proper and neat, using the first line (which conveniently starts with ‘The Iron Man…’ and have that as a cover. However lack of time lead me to arrange the letterforms freely which I think is more in tune with the book.

Iron man v1

Iron Man v5

After a while and some quick touchups I think I finally settled on this one (although I quite like the first one as well):

Iron Man v9

What do you guys think? As always, thanks for reading, and Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Iron Man

  1. Bunnet says:

    I really like the cover, it very different and unique. Do happen to know what the book is about?

    • Thank you very much 🙂 Yes, I’m not sure where you are from but I’m from England and it’s quite a well loved book here, many of us will have studied it at school. It’s by a British poet named Ted Hughes and it’s about the unexpected arrival in England of a giant “metal man” of unknown origin who rains destruction on the countryside by attacking industrial farm equipment, before befriending a small boy and defending the world from a monster from outer space. Sounds crazy but it’s a brilliant book. Check it out if you can. There’s also an animated film based on it as well called ‘The Iron Giant’.

      • Bunnet says:

        Hahaha funny enough, after this comment I did check out, both the book and the film.
        I’m from South America, obviously our literature is more base on wilderness and flora but like reading many things

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

