Definitelyjenny loves: Furrylittlepeach

Hello again, to ‘Definitelyjenny Loves’! If there was anybody out there who I would to ‘aspire’ to it would be Sha’an d’Anthes, otherwise known as Furrylittlepeach. Describing herself as an ‘artist, freelance thing-maker, line-lover and furry little peach.’ She’s travelled to far out lands, with her photographer boyfriend (his tumblr and website for anyone whose interested) making beautiful illustrations and wonderful things. Did I mention she’s absolutely gorgeous as well?

I guess, (and I’ve deliberated for so long whether or not to discuss this on the blog) another factor of why I ‘aspire’ be like her is because (unless I’m corrected) she seems to be of Asian heritage. For those of you wondering, I am a british born chinese, but I imagine some of you may be scratching your heads a little bit at my statement. No, I don’t like her just because she’s Asian (and this is where I’ve deliberated because I always have trouble explaining these things, without wanting to crawl into a hole and hide, but I’ll try my best to.) To put it roughly in context, I’ve had a lot of struggles in terms of my identity, especially at a young age, due to me being an ethic minority, but I guess that’s another blog post. Anyway, in terms of role models there isn’t many Asian women artists/illustrators that are within the same age range as me, and that seemingly has had dual identities (she lives in Sydney but I don’t if she was raised there or not, I only assume so). I can see the similarities building up, I too have a caucasian boyfriend with a strong interest in photography, but there’s a lot of things different as well, maybe even better. She has seen more of the world then I have, has had her work shown in the Tate, definitely more fashionable, and everything she cooks looks delicious. I guess that’s why she’s moved beyond admiration and into aspiration, obviously I’m not going to start moving to Australia, mimic her dress sense, and start calling myself ‘furrylittlebannana’, I may be weird, but I’m not crazy. It’s just nice to know that somewhere, out there, someone with similar traits is making a living doing what she loves. Trying not to sound too cliche here, but I guess it boils down to ‘if she can do it, so can I’. And I definitely want a slice of that pie.

Or should I make that pancakes? Because they look amazing!

All images taken from: http://instagram.com/furrylittlepeach#

Website: http://furrylittlepeach.com.au

2 thoughts on “Definitelyjenny loves: Furrylittlepeach

  1. Great fun! I love the images especially the black and white circular flower.

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

