DefinitelyJenny Loves: Interview with West Hills

KJ

Hello everyone! I had the great pleasure of interviewing a young, up and coming designer and DJ, KJ Saneinia, otherwise known as West Hills. I am planning to do more of these called the ‘Red Sofa Series’, but we’ll see how that goes. Anyway, on to the interview!

DJ: So, why the name Westhills?

KJ: West Hills is the neighborhood I lived in whilst in Los Angeles. 818 all the way!

DJ: When did you get into DJing?

KJ: Around 2 1/2 years ago. My family has a massively musical background and after playing instruments and things in school I sort of loved the technological side of music. I was a bit of a computer geek as well so I always wanted to learn more about it. Hey remember when DJ hero came out and it just kicked off the entire thing.

DJ: What kind of music do you love listening too?

KJ: I listen to most of the stuff just due to the job! I listen to a lot of electronic music though. Deep house, drum and bass, dubstep.. just because I love finding new music, and playing it out to people is sort of the ultimate test.. I appreciate anything. For example, the new Justin Bieber album is pretty good (in places, I love “Memphis”) but Shadow Child’s “Collected” has been playing over and over since it came out.

DJ: What made you want to study Graphic Arts?

KJ: This is a strange one because I never really had an artistic trait in any of my family. I really suck at drawing, but I think it just came from the love of just seeing shapes, and how the way different shapes fit together. Just having a way to put all those things together on a computer and manipulate them without making a mess and quite quickly! The amount of experimentation you can do on computers is amazing. I’m not saying outside of computers you can’t experiment, but I just find that computers are the way forward for me as a graphic designer. I think logos are probably my main thing.

DJ: Got any favourite artists/designers or something that always inspires you?

KJ: I think my first favorite designer and still go-to designer right now is Matt W Moore. The geometrical shapes that he works with and the colors are always absolutely amazing. I’ve written quite a few essays and a presentation or two about him. I try and find inspiration just sort of around me, I love seeing art when I’m out in the city or just around in the field. I’m more of a shape-based person so it’s quite easy to find inspiration in the objects around me. Recently I got into doing poster/flyer design for events I’ve been playing at, but the thing is a lot of these poster designers aren’t actually credited on the posters they made. Amazing work though.

tshirts

DJ: If your penis was an animal wh- I joke, who do you think are the kind of people that will buy your t-shirts?

KJ: Anybody really. I guess I’m sort of marketing to my age group, but then again it can be a pretty wide demographic. I mean I gave a shirt to Shift K3Y at the last show I played. He loved it! I also gave one to the absolute legend known as Danny Byrd. He’s older than me (in a non offensive way) and he quite liked it as well, amazing guy.

(Additional note: You can buy West Hill T-Shirts here.)

DJ: Illustrator, Photoshop or InDesign?

KJ: Illustrator.

DJ: Tell us 3 things/facts about yourself:

KJ: I basically only wear skinny jeans. It’s due to the fact that in school, my trousers we’re quite baggy and my legs seemed fat. Since then, I don’t wear them anymore, just jeans tapered to the ankles please! I’m a really self conscious person, and care way too much about what other people think of me.

I love anything made by Apple. I’ve been using them since I was two years old, sat on my granddad’s lap. I guess it’s not exactly a niche interest, but it’s something about me I guess. I’ve never owned a PC and never will.

When I’m djing, I basically bite my lips together for the entire set, it makes nearly all my photos look like I’m a turtle. It’s also really bad for my lips. But a habit is a habit!

DJ: Any last words?

KJ: Stay inspired, and ten steps ahead of everyone else.

DJ: Now gimmie your links to your portfolio/website/music. Thanks!

KJ: Soundcloud.com/WestHillsDJ
Facebook.com/westhillsdj
Cmykj.tumblr.com

Thanks Jenny!

So, I hope you’ve enjoyed reading it, if people like it or want to see more, feel free to comment or like and I’ll consider doing some more! Thanks, t’ill next time.

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

