Teaching a Zine Workshop

DSCN9567-web

Hello everyone! I hope everyone everyone is getting geared up for Christmas (or if you don’t celebrate it, a nice day off at the least!) Now I did write up an entire article before, but when I clicked to publish it it failed and for some reason didn’t save my written draft, so I lost every word. Admittedly I felt so frustrated that I refused to look at it for a while. Anyway, so I had to pleasure of being asked to teach a workshop for a local Grammar School with a couple of other students. We had to create three tailored workshops for 3 different groups of 25, so you can imagine it was a busy day! So, we decided on an overall theme of ‘Zines’, now for those that have been following my blog for a while may have noticed the word being thrown about, but I’ve never really stopped and explained what a ‘zine’ actually is.

Zines are short for magazine or fanzine and started around the punk era, when photocopiers made it easier and cheaper to create and distribute publications. It was a way to communicate ideas and topics which were usually outside the standard media. Nowadays it can refer to any self-published work which has a small circulation, and since home printing has evolved since the black and white photocopier, zines are produced in a variety of ways and cover a large range of ideas, narratives and topics. Usually because it’s often on a shoestring budget and comes straight from the artists’ hands, the A6 or A5 booklet remains a popular format, but not limited to.

DSCN9432-web

Anyway, onto the workshop! One of the goals that the teacher wanted us to do was to get the students to produce more imagery using their hands and materials as many of them had become reliant on computers. So, we got them to use markers, paper, card, even stuff from their pockets.At the end of each class we even had a little informal competition and awarded the best zines. Here are a few of my personal favourites:

DSCN9474-web DSCN9580-web DSCN9554-web

However, my all time favourite has to be this one: (Please read!)

DSCN9549-web

So, that’s it really, the students were really lovely and there wasn’t one who didn’t give it a go, which I was probably most worried about. Again, I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas and New Year. Till next time.

3 thoughts on “Teaching a Zine Workshop

  1. Bunnet says:

    This both an informative article, I would never know what zine was before and quite cute and think Bob the bisexual snake, should totally get make over from you

    • Haha, that’s not a bad idea, maybe I will one day. I’m glad it’s been informative, I think zines are one of those things in which most people have encountered but never know it by name. The best thing is about them is that you can easily do one yourself!

      • Bunnet says:

        I maybe have encounter them before, I was very much into the indie comic level in my younger years, but today I mostly read webcomics
        Yes, it was very informative

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

