Drawing at the Zoo

img032 edit

Hello everyone! So, I’ve recently had my birthday and as a treat to myself (as well as doubling up on research for my Final Major Project), I went to Whipsnade Zoo. Zoos have always been a morally grey area to me and I don’t think I’ve quite made up my mind on whether or not I think Zoos should exist. I guess currently, I know terrible ‘zoos’ exist and I try and avoid them like the plague, but I honestly believe there are zoos that are doing good work. No zoo is going to be perfect but in England I think the London Zoo and Whipsnade Zoo which are both run by ZSL (Zoological Society of London) are some of the best zoos out there. Anyway, I’m digressing.

I think this is one of the few times I’ve drawn animals from real life, and it most certainly is an experience. Battling with the elements was one thing and drawing while an animal is constantly moving (and rightly so) is a challenge. My all time favourite spread is the sloth bear which is the first image. Here are I few more which I personally think turned out ok. (Sea Lion, European Wolf and Meerkat).

img034 editimg031 editimg030 edit

This is the first time I’ve been to Whipsnade in a long while, as London Zoo is easier to get to. Thoroughly enjoyed it and I would recommend either of the Zoos highly. Now, I must go, work is calling as always, but I’ll leave you with the flamingos.

img033 edit

Visit the Zoo website: http://www.zsl.org/

2 thoughts on “Drawing at the Zoo

  1. Love these! I find drawing animals such a challenge (they just won’t stay still) but there is something magical about quick, sketchy, gesture drawings that I find much more exciting than long, considered studies done from photos.

    • Thank you! I know what you mean, I love looking at sketches of people drawn on the bus or train. Animation is another one, whilst I absolutely adore many of the pixar films, seeing the original roughs/sketches and test animations to me are more magical and intriguing.

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

