My process through dinosaurs

Hello everyone! So, I’m currently going through the fear-inducing process of arranging my portfolio and I found a stack of sketchbook work for a project I did not long ago. It was speculative submission for Okido Magazine. The brief was to create a ‘spot the difference’ page based around the theme of dinosaurs. I though it would be quite a nice project to show my general process for my illustration. So, without further ado, here is my work progress for my illustrations, first I’ll show you the finished project:

Contest-Entry-Print-OKIDO-2-web]

Every illustration starts with sketch and depending on the job, the sketches can range from ultra detailed to fairly loose and quick. When I sketch it’s usually to work out composition, colours and content. As you can see below, it was a loose sketch I did.

img006-edited

I then used a lightbox to neaten up the sketch. For those of you who don’t know what a lightbox is, it’s a piece of equipment (usually taking the form of a table or large box) that emits light from underneath, making whatever you’re drawing translucent, similar to when you hold a drawing up towards a window. This is good for creating layers and why it’s become a staple item for animators. For me though, it gives me a chance build upon my first drawing.

Illustrating some dinos. #triceratops #dinosaur #dino #skeleton #musuem

A post shared by Jenny (@definitelyjenny) on

I don’t know if you can tell but the underlayer is the first sketch and the second layer is my more refined drawing. Sometimes I like to seperate the elements a bit more as this makes arranging in Photoshop much easier.

A work in progress. #dinosaurs #museum #illustration #skeleton #dino #wip

A post shared by Jenny (@definitelyjenny) on

After I’ve scanned in my drawings (at 600dpi usually, slightly excessive but it suits my needs) I then arrange and colour in Photoshop, making further changes and adjustments. BlogBlog-1

At this point felt it was getting there, but needed more colour or something to make it look less empty. I also saved a second version and designated that as the ‘different’ image, erasing certain elements etc. After many different trials and variations I finished on this final image:

RGBt

Add in the other elements such as the handwritten text, title…and hey presto! You have a finished illustration. Well, I hope that informative, I know I skimmed over a lot of stuff so any questions, feel free to post it in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

