DefinitelyJenny Loves: Lily Jones

Hello, hello! Well, lots of thing to say – first of all I hope every has had a lovely Christmas and a Happy New Year. I was supposed to do a post about my Final Year Exhibition before Christmas came but as a searched and searched for the photos I took for them, to my dismay; it seems I’ve misplaced them. So, until then, I’ll continue onto my first post of the New Year, which is about image-maker Lily Jones!

Lily was a year above me on my university course and I remember going to her 2nd Year Exhibition where I was first introduced to her work. Boy, I was impressed! I loved her distinctive use of the brush pen to create fun, bold typography and her mixed media collage always fit well with the type and composed well. What I liked most in her university projects were her concepts, of which many involved subverting our current perceptions, whether it was fairy tales, the fashion industry or beauty standards. Lily always managed to convey them with a wry sense of humour and intelligence, to put it simply, it was style with substance.

Since graduating Lily has done work for Beyond Retro and Penguin Vintage Books, but I think my favourite will always be ‘The Unhappily Ever Afters‘ and ‘The (Not So) Wonderful Walawats‘ which are an adult’s storybook and children’s book respectively. (Both shown above.) Check out the projects in more detail on her website.

Well, that’s it for now, I hope you enjoyed reading and I’ll see you soon!

All images taken from Lily Jones website which can be found here.

Leave a Reply

"Create it, Print it, Live it"

Imagin, draw, graphic design, illustration, print, infographics

Drawing The Motmot

Nature, art, and everything.

tonguepaintings

writing and advice from author Emile DeWeaver

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

